Why Donuts and Running Don’t Mix

6 Aug
My dad has been on this kick lately where he will eat donuts on Saturday and Sunday mornings. He buys his 3 favorite donuts, cuts them all in half, eats the halves on Saturday, then saves the remaining halves for the next morning. My dad is a kick kind of guy. When he gets into the habit of something, he does it for quite some time. Come to think of it, so is Bee. Hmm, I should explore that.
 
Ok, ok, back to the sugar kick…Whenever he buys the donuts, he also brings some home that the rest of the family would like. SCORE. For me, that always means a maple bar. Do I even have to explain why these are the best? That’s what I thought.

 Source

I knew I had a long run planned for this morning..a whopping 10 miles that I was initially excited about, but when the heat and actual time to do it rolled around, I was less than eager, but I decided a maple bar would give me the push I needed.

My normal pre-run breakfast is toast with peanut butter and banana and a cup of coffee. So you could imagine the upset when I threw caution to the wind and inhaled that delicious, sweet, decadent maple bar. I enjoyed every second of it, then it hit me. OH NO…I’m going to taste this a second time on the way back up. Yikes.

I got a late start on my run, and by the time I started it was about 11am. Umm, not a good idea. It was HOT, people. I mean, sweating-profusely-will-this-family-let-me-into-their-house-for-water-what-am-I-doing-I-give-up sort of a hot. There were many times during the run, particularly around mile 7, that I cursed my decision to run and deemed it an awful idea.

I finished up the 10 miles in 1:22, while managing to not upchuck my donut…a miracle! 🙂 Luckily I had parked my car right by a Starbucks, so I wandered in there, trying not to drip my sweat everywhere (gross!)..and begged, “Uhh sir, can I..uh.. uh. (panting)…get a Venti ice water..gulp..before I die?” He laughs and says sure and fills me up. I must have been a sight for sore eyes because homeboy behind me was looking at me like I was an alien. Weird. But, hey! Starbucks has the best. water. ever. Don’t you agree? Gulped that sucker down and limped walked to my car.

I spent the rest of the day trying to regain feeling in my legs, but it was an awesome training run. Well, it definitely was NOT awesome while I was running, but it was great because it taught me to run in miserable conditions. As runners, we NEED these uncomfortable runs. I am convinced they improve your running ability and, most importantly, the mental aspect of running, which I believe is about 85% of it.

Have you been on a miserable (or amazing) long runs lately? Tell me about any runs you’ve been on in recent days…the good, the bad and the ugly!

One Response to “Why Donuts and Running Don’t Mix”

  1. bstronger August 12, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    oh My Gosh that was soo funny!!

Leave a Reply

